Cleeng understands that you are responsible to your customers for all data you collect through their interaction with your service. Both privacy legislation (such as GDPR) and consumer concerns create an obligation to fulfill customer needs such as the ‘right to erasure’.
This article explains how you can comply with such customer wishes, and how you can easily anonymize personal customer data directly from the Cleeng dashboard.
Locate the customer in the Customer Accounts section using the search feature.
Click the ‘Delete user’ button on the right of the customer summary panel.
Confirm that you wish to anonymize this customer’s account. This will permanently remove all personal data associated with this customer.
What happens to the customer’s data?
The following information will be anonymized:
- first name
- last name
- company name
- phone number
- custom answers provided at registration
- ip addresses
The action cannot be reversed. Once the customer’s data has been removed, it cannot be retrieved.
When can I not remove a customer’s data?
You cannot remove a customer’s data (via the Cleeng dashboard or API) in the following circumstances:
- The customer has an active subscription. Deletion of a customer’s data will by definition end their access to a subscription. Therefore any active subscriptions must first be terminated.
How will removing a customer's data impact my analytics?
No aggregate data will be impacted. The integrity of historical revenue data is protected and will not change as a result of this action.